Unidentified Patient Messages

Unidentified Patient messages are secure messages that are sent to the portal that do not include enough patient information to automatically associate them with an existing patient record. The messages need to be linked to a patient record or returned to the sender.

Unidentified Patient Messages Help

Filter Inbox for Unidentified Patient Messages
- Unidentified Patient Message - Link to Record
Unidentified Patient Message - Return to Sender

Filter Inbox for Unidentified Patient Messages 

Complete the following steps to filter the Secure Messaging Inbox for Unidentified Patient messages:

  1. From the menu bar, select Secure Messaging. The Secure Messaging Inbox opens.
  2. Expand Filters to display the available filters.
  3. Select Clear to remove any existing filters. 
  4. Enter Patient in the Patient Last Name box.
  5. Enter Unidentified in the Patient First Name box.
  6. Select Apply. The search results are displayed. When Unidentified Patient messages exist, the following message is displayed below the Filters section: Messages contained within this tab for "Unidentified Patient" do not contain enough patient information to associate to an existing patient record. If you are not the intended recipient of this message, it is recommended that you open the message and return to sender.
  7. Select the Subject of a message or select Actions > Open to open a message.
  8. If you want to link the message to a patient record, see Unidentified Patient Message - Link to Record for instructions. 
  9. If you want to return the message to the sender, see Unidentified Patient Message - Return to Sender for instructions.

Unidentified Patient Message - Link to Record

If you are the intended message recipient, complete the following steps to link the secure message to the appropriate patient record:

  1. From the opened message, select Link to Record. The Patient Search dialog box opens. Patient Archive is the default search mode.
  2. Optionally, select Global if you are authorized and want to perform a Global Search. 
  3. Enter patient information according to the guidance in the Patient Search dialog box. 
  4. Select Search. Patient verification is performed against the patient repository to identify existing patient records with matching or similar demographics. (Note: You must be authorized in the system to view the similar patient records.)
  5. If zero (0) patients are found, go to Step 7.
  6. If you want to link the message to one of the patients listed, you can select the patient; otherwise, go to Step 7. The Confirm Patient Selection message is displayed. Select OK to associate the message with the selected patient.
  7. Select Create Patient in the lower-left corner of the Patient Search dialog box to create a new patient record. The Create Patient dialog box opens.
  8. Enter patient demographics following the guidance in the dialog box.
    • The following patient demographics are required or conditionally required:
      • Patient Last Name (required)
      • Patient DOB (date of birth) (required)
      • Home Phone (conditionally required)
      • Patient First Name (required)
      • Patient SSN (Social Security number) (conditionally required)
      • Patient ZIP Code (conditionally required) Release Considerations: With 6.0 and later releases, this element is labeled ZIP/Postal Code.
      • Patient Gender (required)
    • Optionally, select a value from the Country list to enable the State/Province element. Release Considerations: With 6.0 and later releases, the element that is enabled is labeled State/Province/Region and a Name of Country element is enabled simultaneously when you select Other from the Country list.  
  9. Select Save. To help prevent you from creating a duplicate patient, the system searches for existing patient records that are an exact or similar match to the information provided.
    • If an exact or similar patient record match is not found, the new patient record is created, and a Save Successful confirmation message is displayed. Select OK to close the confirmation message.
    • If patients with similar demographics are found, the Create Patient dialog box opens, and the patients with similar demographics are displayed. (Note: You must be authorized in the system to view the similar patient records.) Complete one of the following actions:
      • Select an existing patient with similar demographics.
      • Select Back to return to the Create Patient dialog box where you entered demographics.
      • Select Cancel to cancel the Create Patient workflow.
      • Select Continue Save to create the new patient record. A Save Successful confirmation message is displayed. Select OK to close the confirmation message.
    • If all required demographics that you entered match an existing patient record, the Create Patient dialog box opens, and the existing patient is displayed. You cannot create a new patient record. Complete one of the following actions:
      • Select the existing patient record.
      • Select Back to return to the Create Patient dialog box where you entered demographics.
      • Select Cancel to cancel the Create Patient workflow. 
    • If a matching existing patient and patients with similar demographics are found, the patient records are displayed. (Note: You must be authorized in the system to view the similar patient records.) Complete one of the following actions:
      • Select the existing patient or one with similar demographics.
      • Select Back to return to the Create Patient dialog box where you entered demographics.
      • Select Cancel to cancel the Create Patient workflow.
  10. When you exit the Create Patient workflow, if you created a new patient or selected an existing matching or similar patient, you return to the Patient Search dialog box and the patient is listed. Complete the following steps to link the secure message to the patient:
    1. Select the patient. The Confirm Patient Selection confirmation message is displayed.
    2. Select OK to close the confirmation message. You return to the secure message. The secure message now is linked to the selected patient.

Unidentified Patient Message - Return to Sender

If you are not the intended secure message recipient, complete the following steps to notify the sender:

  1. From the opened message, select Return to Sender. The Return to Sender page is displayed and contains a default message. Edit the message as necessary.
  2. Select Send. The message is removed from your Secure Messaging Inbox.
Copyright Cerner Corporation. All rights reserved.